Get ready for Technovation’s 2021 World Summit with this quick guide! Take a couple of minutes and review the schedule so you know which workshops and panels you don’t want to miss. We broke things out by a few key categories in the post, but you can always preview the full schedule when you register

Take a look! Whether you’re interested in technical workshops, career advice, connecting with girls using tech to change their communities, thought-provoking speeches, taking a few moments to celebrate this incredible community, or learning how you can get involved with Technovation, you’ll find plenty of sessions to attend.

Please note: 

There are a few events that are open only to specific audiences—those event titles are listed in light blue. All other events are open to everyone else, although some events may be more interesting to specific audiences.

Some sessions will be available for replay a few weeks after the event, but not all. It is up to our presenters and speakers whether they wish to make their sessions available after the event—thank you for your understanding.

Times are listed in UTC and PDT. Convert that to your timezone with a tool like this one, or register for the event to access a schedule in your timezone.

Save your spot and register for World Summit! We can’t wait to see you there.

If you want to meet amazing girls who are using technology to change their communities you should attend…

Day 1: August 12, 2021

15:20 UTC / 8:20 am PDT
Finalist Pitches: Junior Division teams
Watch the 2021 Technovation Girls Finalist teams pitch their apps to a panel of expert judges.
Who it’s for: Everyone!

17:30 UTC / 10:30 am PDT
Technology Demo Showcase
Meet the Regional Winners and Finalists, and learn about how they’re solving community problems that matter most to them. Interact with the teams who built some of the best tech of the year and get ready to be inspired.
Who it’s for: Everyone! We strongly recommend attending this event—it’s a great opportunity to hear directly from Regional Winner teams and Finalists!

Day 2: August 13, 2021

15:15 UTC/ 8:15 am PDT
Finalist Pitches: Senior Division Teams
Watch the 2021 Technovation Girls Finalist teams pitch their apps to a panel of expert judges.
Who it’s for: Everyone!

17:30 UTC / 10:30 am PDT
Technology Demo Showcase
Meet the Regional Winners and Finalists, and learn about how they’re solving community problems that matter most to them. Interact with the teams who built some of the best tech of the year and get ready to be inspired.
Who it’s for: Everyone! We strongly recommend attending this event—it’s a great opportunity to hear directly from Regional Winner teams and Finalists!

14:15 UTC / 7:15 am PDT
Panel: Long-term Impact—Technovation Alumnae Share their Post-program Paths & Success Stories
Technovation alumnae discuss Technovation’s impact on their lives and careers, what it’s like to enter the tech industry as a young woman, and how they plan to keep changing the world.
Who it’s for: Technovation’s partners, mentors, parents

If you’re interested in hands-on technical workshops that will help you level-up your skills, you should attend…

Day 1: August 12, 2021

16:00 UTC / 9:00 am PDT
Workshop: Build Your Own Project Management Bot (with Nuance)

Nuance will teach you how to build your own agenda-planning bot that will help you stay on track with future projects (like your next Technovation Girls’ project!). You’ll learn how to build intelligent bots, and explore concepts related to natural language processing and good vs bad datasets. No bot-building experience needed—in fact, this workshop will show you that no matter your technical background, everyone has the tools to learn the foundational skills to create your own bot!
Who it’s for: Girls and parents (mentors welcome too!)

18:05 UTC / 11:05 am PDT
Technical Workshop: Building better apps using Thunkable

Learn how to do more and build better projects with Thunkable tools. In particular, this workshop will teach you how to use Thunkable’s artificial intelligence tools in your projects.
Who it’s for: Designed with students in mind, but open to anyone interested in Thunkable and using AI tools

Day 2: August 13, 2021

16:30pm UTC / 9:30 am PDT
Technical Workshop: MIT App Inventor & Artificial Intelligence Tools

Want to use machine learning to build a smart app for your phone? The MIT App Inventor team shows you how to train and test a machine learning model to “see” and classify objects in the real world.
Who it’s for: students, parents, mentors, ambassadors

If you’re interested in learning more about careers in technology and what it’s like to be a women in STEM and AI, you should attend…

Day 1: August 12, 2021

12:30 UTC / 5:30 am PDT
Alumnae Workshop: Build your portfolio with GitHub
In this special alumnae-only workshop, you’ll learn how to use the GitHub platform to showcase your personal and professional coding projects so that they are noticed by top university and job recruiters. GitHub pages can also help you to expand your professional network, allowing you to connect with coders from around the world on open source, collaborative projects. Learn how to connect, build, and amplify your accomplishments like a professional developer!
Who it’s for: This event is only for those who have participated as students in Technovation Girls

14:20 UTC / 7:20 am PDT
Panel: Charting your path—Career Advice from Women in Tech
Get advice from women working at top tech companies! This diverse group of women will share their personal stories of how they got to their roles today, what their experience and mindsets were when they were Technovation Girls’ ages, and where they plan on steering their career journeys moving forward!
Who it’s for: Students, Alumnae, Mentors, and anyone else interested in what it’s really like to work at a tech company as a woman.

Day 2: August 13, 2021

12:30 UTC / 5:30 am PDT
Alumnae panel: What no one told us— 5 universal truths that every woman in STEM should know (with Blue Chip Scholars and NASA)
Astronaut Dr. Jeanette Epps interviews NASA Engineer Jessica Newman. They’ll share their 5 universal truths they think every woman in STEM should know. Moderated by a Technovation alumna!
Who it’s for: This event is only for those who have participated as students in Technovation Girls

16:30 UTC / 9:30 am PDT
Workshop: How to Secure Funding for your Projects (with Isthmus)
Learn how to leverage your strengths to successfully pitch your business with Isthmus! Isthmus is an online community sustainability platform founded by two young women, and they’re sharing what they’ve learned about pitching a business.
Who it’s for: students, alumnae, mentors

14:15 UTC / 7:15 am PDT
Women in Engineering Panel: Candid conversations about navigating STEM workplaces & succeeding in STEM and AI fields
Successful women engineers share how they navigate challenges in the STEM workplace, and offer tips and advice for thriving in the workplace. This will be a very honest conversation about the challenges of being a woman in STEM, and how to overcome them.
Who it’s for: students and alumnae

16:30pm UTC / 9:30 am PDT
Technical Workshop: MIT App Inventor & Artificial Intelligence Tools

Want to use machine learning to build a smart app for your phone? The MIT App Inventor team shows you how to train and test a machine learning model to “see” and classify objects in the real world.
Who it’s for: students, parents, mentors, ambassadors

If you’re interested in getting involved with Technovation you should attend…

Day 1: August 12, 2021

16:00 UTC / 9:00 am PDT
Supporter Panel: 15 years of driving girls’ empowerment through STEM education. What we’ve learned, and what comes next
Technovation’s biggest supporters tell us: what progress have we made by funding girls’ STEM education in the last 15 years? What should we do in the next 15?

During this panel, we invite some of the biggest philanthropic partners in the STEM education space to discuss best practices, trends, and what remains to be done when it comes to empowering girls and underserved communities through STEM education and careers. Come join us so that together we can use what we have learned in the past to move towards a society where more people are empowered to use technology to build a more sustainable world.
Who it’s for: Current and potential Technovation partners, community partners, program ambassadors, mentors

Day 2: August 13, 2021

18:15 UTC / 11:15am PDT
How You Can Get Involved with Technovation
Find out what it looks like to volunteer with Technovation! Learn more about volunteering as a Mentor, Judge, or Club Ambassador to bring Technovation Girls to your community. In this workshop, we will look ahead and give some volunteering tips for the upcoming season.
Who it’s for: Prospective partners, current volunteers, new volunteers

If you want to celebrate being part of the Technovation community and all that we have (and will!) accomplish you should attend…

Day 1: August 12, 2021

14:00 UTC / 7:00am PDT
World Summit Opening & Day 1 Welcome, with Tara Chklovski, Technovation Founder and CEO
We’re so excited to welcome everyone to World Summit! Join us to learn what we have planned for the next two days, and to take a few minutes to celebrate everything you and your community have accomplished this year.
Who it’s for: Everyone!

19:20 UTC / 12:20 pm PDT
Day One Celebration & Volunteer Appreciation
Celebrate the amazing participants and volunteers who power Technovation! Gather for a moment to feel proud of what you’ve accomplished this year.
Who it’s for: Everyone!

Day 2: August 13, 2021

14:00 UTC / 7:00 am PDT
World Summit Day 2 Welcome, with Anar Simpson, Global Ambassador and Technovation Board Member
Let’s get day two of World Summit started! Technovation community members will share key announcements and words of inspiration including a word from Anar Simpson, the Global Ambassador and Member of the Board of Directors, Technovation!
Who it’s for: Everyone!

19:30 UTC / 12:30 pm PDT
Awards Ceremony & Event Closing
The final event of World Pitch! Learn the final results of the season & celebrate EVERYONE’s accomplishments this year.
Who it’s for: Everyone!

And of course, don’t miss hearing from our incredible keynote speakers:

Day 1: August 12, 2021

 

19:05 UTC / 12:05pm PDT
Keynote: Stefania Giannini, UNESCO Assistant Director-General for Education
Hear what it will take to transform our education systems to build a more equal, just and sustainable world for all.
Who it’s for: Everyone!

Day 2: August 13, 2021

 

16:00 UTC / 9:00 am PDT
Keynote: How girls are innovating in healthcare technology (with Baxter International)
Heather Knight from Baxter International will host a conversation with Technovation alumnae solving healthcare issues in their communities. Learn how these young women make a difference with their innovative grassroots solutions and diverse perspectives.
Who it’s for: Everyone

19:00 UTC / 12:00 pm PDT
Keynote: Mari Copeny “Little Miss Flint”
Mari Copeny “Little Miss Flint” shares her story of fighting for clean water for her community, and how she’s fighting to make sure kids have a seat at the table.
Who it’s for: Everyone!